Haydonleigh Primary School

Haydonleigh Primary School

I am talented, together we are amazing !

Haydon Court Drive, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN25 1JP

admin@haydonleighschool.co.uk

01793700443

Y5

welcome to year 5

Class 16  Class 17 Class 18
Mr Fry  Mrs Rochester Miss Glasspole
Mrs Fry  Mrs Early Mrs Greenfield

Important Information for Parents:

P.E.
P.E Days -  Tuesday (Indoor) and Wednesday (Outdoor)
Please come to school wearing your PE kit on these days
Children will stay in their kit all day
Please ensure that children have a plain grey hoodie for PE (and not black)


Spellings

Here is a link to the spellings for Term 1 

Homework
Homework will be set on Mondays and will be due in on the following Monday 
Homework will be emailed to the children on Purple Mash each week (starting wb 13th September) as well as shown here on the website 

 For homework this week
Set on Monday 20th September and due on Monday 27th September

Reading

  • Please read 5x and record in your reading diary. You can read a book from school or choose an age appropriate book from home
  • Children will need to record the date of reading, name of book and write a short comment in the box in the record to reflect what they liked or disliked about the book. Adults will need to sign the reading record each week  

    Times Table Rockstars 
  • Please log into Times Table Rockstars and play at least 5x this week.
    Your new login is in the front of your homework book. 


    Spellings
  • Please practise your spellings 5x and write them out neatly into your red homework book in a black handwriting pen
  • Homework books should be written as neatly as your class books
  • Please fill up each page in your homework book so we don't waste pages

    Maths
  • On Purple Mash, there are 2 Roman Numeral Quizzes to have a go at 

Your new login is in the front of your homework book. 

If you have any problems with your homework, please see your teacher BEFORE Friday. 

Reading records and red homework books need to be brought in on Monday's for teachers to check

 Documents - please click to open

  1. Year 5 Homework Guidance
  2. Parents’ guide to the Year 5 curriculum
  3. Suggested Reading for Pleasure Book List
  4. Grammar Guide
  5. Year 5 Curriculum Map - coming soon
    Y5 PGL initial meeting presentation 2021.pdf                    
    Year 5 PGL Trip OCT 2020 letter.doc

 Useful Information

  • Year 5 PE days are usually on Tuesdays (indoor) and Wednesdays (outdoor).
    Children will need to wear their PE kits for the duration of the day. Children will need shorts for indoor PE sessions which can be worn underneath jogging bottoms on colder days. 

  • Weekly music lessons will take place on a Tuesday afternoon. The children will be continuing their knowledge of how to play the ukelele but will focus more on intonation, reading sheet music and learning different tunes.

  • If your child has anything they wish to discuss, please encourage them to approach their teacher first. In Year 5 we strive to achieve greater independence.  
  • To communicate with the class teacher you can either ring the school office on 01793 700443 or email the office admin@haydonleighschool.co.uk to be forwarded to the class teacher and they will get back to you as soon as possible
     
    Many thanks for your support in this busy academic year.

Dates

  • Wednesday 15th September - Beat the Street Starts 
  • Thursday 23rd September - Individual Photographs 
  • Friday 1st October: TD day 
  • Thursday 21st October - Friday 29th October: Half-term break
  • Monday 1st November: Term 2 starts
  • Monday 20th December - Monday 3rd January: Christmas Holidays
  • Tuesday 4th January: TD day
  • Wednesday 5th January: Term 3 starts
  • Monday 21st February - Friday 25th February: Half-term break
  • Monday 28th February: TD day
  • Tuesday 1st March: Term 4 starts
  • Monday 11th April - Friday 22nd April: Easter holidays
  • Monday 25th April: Term 5 starts
  • Monday 2nd May: Bank holiday (school closed)
  • Monday 30th May - Friday 3rd June: Half-term break
  • Monday 6th June: TD day
  • Tuesday 7th June: TD day
  • Wednesday 8th June: Term 6 starts
  • Friday 22nd July: Final day of the year

Useful Links - Please click to open

 

Links to other sites

Certain links, including hypertext links, in Our Site will take you outside of our site. Links are provided for your convenience and inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement or approval by us of the linked site, its operator or its content. We are not responsible for the content of any website outside our Site. 

Back to the Top